LAAIA Scholarship Foundation was established in 2018 and it is meant to assist students or individuals interested in the insurance industry. The Spencer Educational Foundation has partnered with the Latin American Association of Insurance Agencies (LAAIA) to create merit-based diversity scholarships through an annual pledge by The LAAIA.  This year, The Latin American Association of Insurance Agencies Scholarship will be awarded to two undergraduate students who self-identify as Latinx/Hispanic American. Spencer awards scholarships to undergraduate, graduate, and Ph.D. students pursuing risk management and insurance careers with financial support ranging from $5,000 to $10,000. 

Submission & Guidelines

2024 Application Opens: October 1, 2023
2024 Application Deadline: January 31, 2024
Scholarship awardees are typically notified at the end of April

Undergraduate Spencer scholarships are awarded in the amount of $5,000, with limited $7,500 and $10,000 scholarships awarded to the highest-ranked applicants. Spencer awards scholarships to undergraduate students who meet the following criteria:
  • Must seek a career in Risk Management/Insurance.
  • Must be enrolled at an accredited college/university in the United States, Canada, or Bermuda for the 2023-2024 academic year (September 2023 - May 2024).
  • Preferred: Relevant work/internship experience and leadership skills.
  • Preferred: Majoring/minoring in Risk Management/Insurance or a related field of study (e.g., actuarial science, business, finance, information technology, etc.)


Scholarship Sponsors



Past Award Recipients

Gabriel Garcia

2023 Award Recipient

Carlos Fuentes

2023 Award Recipient

Omar Gonzalez, 2022 Ana Ortiz, 2021 Bianca Anchondo, 2021